Start Date: 1997 Completion Date: 1998 Project Design: Steve Taylor Design Consultant: Grater Architects Engineer: Mark Withiam Builder: Charles Garlock and Sons Owner: Thousand Island Park Corporation Location: Thousand Island Park, Wellesley Island
The Pavilion, at Thousand Island Park, on the headlands of Wellesley Island, is one of the architectural gems along the river. The original building, built in the late 1800’s, was the gateway to this Methodist retreat, then only accessible by steamboat.
The character of the building, with its surrounding balconies and graceful roof forms was established at this early time. When the building was widened to its current, almost square plan, in the early 1900’s, the builders simply extended the balconies and roofs and added a railing to crown the building.
During the depression years, the building fell into decline. In subsequent years she lost her balconies and the timber crib foundation fell into decay. In the 1970’s the interior was closed off due to safety concerns.
Since its placement on the National Register of Historic Places, in 1982, Thousand Island Park has gone through something of a renaissance; and, in the 1990’s, the Landmark Society pulled the community together to restore our most distinctive landmark. Money was raised from community members and others interested in the project and in 1994 the building was straightened up and placed on new steel foundations.
Steve Taylor – Builder teamed up with Grater Architects to design the restoration of the building. In our design, the symmetry of the original building (lost when the building was widened) has been restored and the plan of the building reconfigured to serve the contemporary needs of the community. Charles Garlock and Sons, of Alexandria Bay completed the restoration in 1997.